“Aim your arrow at the sun”

A long time ago I ran across this saying, and it has stuck with me as my favorite quotation of all time:

“Aim your arrow at the sun and you may not reach it, but your arrow will fly far higher than if you aim at an object on a level with yourself.”

I suppose this has been my guiding principle throughout my life, even before I was consciously on the spiritual path.  Always try to do my best and my highest, and if I didn’t quite make it, well, at least I wound up better than when I started.  Three steps forward and one step back, and all that.  And sometimes one step forward became a giant leap upward.

The farther along I go on my spiritual path, the higher that sun climbs.  So I have even farther to shoot for; but that’s good, because each step of the way I do learn more, grow more, and come closer to my highest and my best.  I can’t wait to find out what that highest and best ultimately is!

.

.

keywords alternative spirituality, eclectic spirituality, new age, spirit, spiritual but not religious, spiritual diversity, spirituality, spiritual not religious, spiritual path, spiritual search, spiritual seeker, spiritual experience, spiritual beliefs

2 Responses to “Aim your arrow at the sun”

  1. Sylvia D. says:

    I have to chuckle here, because the idea of having a favorite quote “of all time” is rather the opposite of fluidity isn’t it.

  2. Well, think of the quote as a feather floating on that fluid movement of spiritual belief!

Leave a comment